Comic Review: Spider-Gwen #1

Spider-Gwen #1

Publisher: Marvel Comics

Writer: Jason Latour

Artist: Robbi Rodriguez

Colour Artist: Rico Renzi

Spider-Gwen was introduced to us in the whole Spider-Verse.  In another Universe, an alternative one, Gwen Stacey was the one who was bitten by the mutated spider and not Peter Parker.

Her alternative name though is Spider-Woman, but since Marvel already has a series with Jessica Drew as Spider-Woman, it was easier to just called Gwen Stacey’s run Spider-Gwen.

I felt I should have enjoyed this issue more than I did, I had looked forward to this issue more than Silk/Cindy Moon’s issue.  Yet I found myself just… not interested.

Although I do like certain things, Vulture being menacing and looking scary, Matt Murdock not being on the side of justice and Spider-Woman actually being seen as a bad guy.  All of those things should have made this comic interesting and yet I barely cared.

I found Gwen to be more like Peter Parker – I do have to admit, I haven’t actually read many Spider-Man comics, but the feel that I got from this is that she is almost the same in attitude here – she is witty and she uses banter when fighting bad guy’s.  I just barely cared about her, I wanted to know about what her job was, was she still with the band? What her relationship’s are like with her band mates? And her father, what kind of relationship do they have now?

I did like the cliff-hanger at the end of the issue though, which will make me go and by the next issue of this, but I doubt I will be buying this every month.

One thought on “Comic Review: Spider-Gwen #1

  1. Great review. I too read this and for some reason I was underwhelmed. I skipped Silk #1 cause the artwork I wasn’t fond of, yet I gave it a chance and enjoyed it more than Gwen. I’ll get number 2 of this to see if my observations continue.

Leave a Reply

