Book Review: Talk to the Tail: Adventures of Cat Ownership and Beyond by Tom Cox

Talk to the Tail is the second book that Tom Cox has written about his beloved cats, I never got round to reviewing the first book because I was eager to read this one and it was also in a busy period for me so I kind of missed it out.

I loved the first book Under the Paw: Confessions of a Cat Man it was hilarious and heart-warming to read, at the same time I also found myself agreeing with certain things the author was saying about his cats when thinking of my own cat.

However this book seemed to have lost it’s way a bit, there was humour, but there was something lacking, it felt less about the cats and owners and more about the owner and the life he has outside his bubble of cats. It could have just been me thinking that, but I love the personalities that Ralph, The Bear, Janet, Bootsie and Pablo brought to the book, what we learn about them and then suddenly we are taken away from the cats to look at a new angle of horse riding? It wasn’t even a little story, a little humour tale, but it was a full chapter’s worth about horse riding.

My way of thinking about it, is the author was using the space to write about his relationship with his wife Dee, but in doing so he was making the book an autobiography of himself and at times not with the cats that were the focus and whole point of the book.

There was a few sad moments in there, one about Janet and another about a neighbour.

This book could have done better, though it did still have the humour of the last book, it wasn’t as funny, however I will see what the latest book The Good, The Bad and The Furry: Life with the World’s Most Melancholy Cat and Other Whiskery Friends is like, I have higher hopes for it.

3 out of 5 stars

Leave a Reply

